Skip to content

AODA Committee

Mission Statement

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disability Act (AODA) Committee shall work with the College and other organizations, as part of the promotion and facilitation of an integrated approach to effective barrier prevention and removal on Humber College’s campuses and in the areas surrounding the College.

Mandate

The AODA Committee is an advisory committee reporting to the Director of Human Rights, Equity & Inclusion who reports to the Vice-President, Human Resources. The Committee works in collaboration with Humber College with respect to issues relating to enabling compliance with AODA (2005) and promoting full accessibility and inclusion for the Humber Community.

Commitee Members and Meetings

 Name

Title

Department

Email

Ext

Liana Acri Student Life Coordinator University of Guelph-Humber liana.acri@guelphhumber.ca 6337
Sacha Ally Analyst, Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion Centre for Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion sacha.ally@humber.ca 4808
Morris Beckford Manager, Human Rights, Equity & Inclusion Education and Training Centre for Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion morris.beckford@humber.ca -
Natalie Bergstorm Communications Director IGNITE natalie@ignitestudentlife.com 4749
Vin Berman Manager, Client Services Employee and Labour Relations Human Resources and Organization Effectiveness vin.berman@humber.ca 5627
Katelyn Bilenduke Liaison Events Coordinator University of Guelph-Humber katelyn.bilenduke@guelphhumber.ca 6336
Philip Burge Faculty - Social Service Worker Diploma Program School of Social and Community Services Philip.Burge@humber.ca 3843
Delina Coates Residence Life Coordinator Residence Life delina.coates@humber.ca 72043
Carina Cunanan Admissions Officer Office of the Registrar carina.cunanan@humber.ca 4294
Jennie Grimard PC, Graphic Design for Print and Web; Web Design and Development School of Media Studies and Information Technology jennie.grimard@humber.ca 4813
Michelle Moore Director Information Technology Security and Project Management Information Technology Services michelle.moore@humber.ca 4993
Hiren Patel Senior Abilities and Accommodation Specialist Human Resources and Organization Effectiveness hiren.patel@humber.ca 4237
Jason Rouatt Library Technician Libraries jason.rouatt@humber.ca 4497
Caroline Samrah Academic Advisor University of Guelph-Humber caroline.samrah@guelphhumber.ca 6077
Nancy Simms Director, Human Rights, Equity & Inclusion Centre for Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion nancy.simms@humber.ca 4425
Amanda Soriano Digital Communications Coordinator Student Success and Engagement Amanda.Soriano@humber.ca 4187
Lynn Vanlieshout Manager of Community Projects Community Outreach and Workforce Development Lynn.VanLieshout@humber.ca 5129
David Yen Public Safety Coordinator Public Safety david.yen@humber.ca 4197

 

Responsibilities of the Committee Members include the following:

  1. Members will identify barriers that will be removed or modified for people with disabilities
  2. Members will identify regulations, policies, programs, practices, and services that cause, or may cause, barriers to persons with disabilities and recommend alternatives
  3. Members will provide input and feedback on the development of AODA (2005) policies and the multi-year accessibility plan to effectively address and meet the requirements identified in the AODA (2005) Standards. This may include the forming of working groups or any other format that will be deemed effective.
  4. Members will inquire into the status of members’ assigned tasks during Committee Meetings
  5. Members are required to inform their departments, schools and Union about the information shared within the Committee Meetings and vice versa.
  6. If a member has been identified as required to follow up on an action item(s) then the member must be prepared to do so in the next scheduled meeting.
  7. Members will participate ongoing consultative forums (e.g. Humber department and school meetings, AOC, town hall) to share work completed to date with regards to the removal of barriers at Humber and to solicit feedback on barriers to accessibility for persons with disabilities at Humber. This feedback may be analyzed by the Human Rights Manager and incorporated into the annual and multi-year accessibility plan at Humber.
  8. Members are obligated to attend the scheduled meetings.If a member is unable to attend a committee meeting, they are required to inform the Human Rights Manager at least 24 hours prior to the scheduled meeting.
  9. Members who are unable to fully commit to the five meetings per annum are required to indicate their withdrawal to the Human Rights Manager.
  10. Members must be available for continuous education on disability related access issues and any awareness training pertaining to disability issues.
  11. Members must be prepared to occasionally sit on AODA working groups.
  12. Members are expected to attend AODA College information forums to represent the Committee.

2021-2022

Time: 9:00 am - 11:00 am | Location: Online (MS Teams)

  • Friday, September 17, 2021 
  • Friday, November 19, 2021
  • Friday, January 14, 2022
  • Friday, March 18, 2022
  • Friday, May 20, 2022

2020-2021

Time: 9:00 am - 11:00 am | Location: Online (MS Teams)

  • Friday, September 18, 2020 
  • Friday, November 20, 2020
  • Friday, January 15, 2021
  • Friday, March 19, 2021
  • Friday, May 21, 2021