Education and Training Programs



The Centre for Human Rights, Equity & Diversity offers training to support our community in Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) capacity building. Education and training is a key mechanism used to ignite change and foster inclusion. The impact of training and education depends on employees understanding and committing to life-long learning, practicing mindfulness and taking responsibility for building an inclusive Humber.

We are pleased to annnounce the 2020-2021 training program offered by Centre staff.

To register for a training workshop please visit: hrs.humber.ca/register. "How To" register guide: Online Registration is Here.

For more information, please contact: Zareena Khan, Coordinator at Zareena.Khan@humber.ca.

Date/Time/Location Session Title Facilitators Participants
Wednesday June 10, 2020
3:30 pm – 4:30pm
Webinar
Talking about Racism in the Classroom Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Humber PR Social Media
Wednesday June 16, 2020
10:00am – 12:00pm
Webinar
How To Be An Ally To Black Community
in the Face of Anti-Black Racism
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
 Faculty
Thursday June 17, 2020
1:00pm – 3:00pm
Webinar
Addressing Racial Microaggressions in the Virtual Environment
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Students
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
A Spectrum Of Identities (Pride Edition): Exploring Power and Privilege
In Our Local Context
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Students
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Thursday, June 25, 2020
9:00am-11:00am
Webinar
Strategies for Challenging Anti-Black Racism in the Virtual Environment Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty
Administrative
Support
Thursday, June 25, 2020
11:00am – 12:00pm
Webinar
Intro to Racial Microaggressions in the Virtual Environment Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Humber Communications Leads
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
10:00am – 12:00pm
Webinar
Challenging anti-Black Racism in Virtual Environment II Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Thursday, July 9, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Spectrum of Identities Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Students
Faculty
Administrative
Support
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Introduction to Gender Diversity Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Support Staff
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
1:30pm – 3:30pm
Webinar
Allyship In Action: How Managers Can Support Black Employees Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Registrar’s Office - Managers
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
9:30am – 11:30am
Webinar
Allyship In Action: How Managers Can Support Black Employees Adam Benn,
Sacha Ally
Registrar’s Office - Support Staff
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
2:00pm – 4:00pm
Webinar
Allyship In Action: How Managers Can Support Black Employees Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Registrar’s Office -Support Staff
Thursday, July 23, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Support Staff
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Addressing Racial Microaggressions in the Virtual Environment Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Support Staff
Thursday, August 20, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
The Faculty of Bachelor Of Journalism Program

Friday, September 11, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30 pm
Webinar

Introduction to Implicit Bias
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Journalism Faculty Working In The Diploma
And Post-Graduate Certificate Program
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Allyship In Action: How Managers Can Support Black Employees Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
ECE Faculty, Faculty of Health Sciences
and Wellness 
Monday, September 28, 2020
1:30pm – 3:30pm
Webinar
Spectrum of Identitities Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Applied Research & Innovation
and Program Planning, Development and Renewal
Friday, October 2, 2020
10:00am – 11:30am
Webinar
Book Club: Race Talk Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty of Applied Sciences & Technology
Thursday, October 15, 2020
10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Webinar
Spectrum of Identities Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Teaching + Learning
Friday, October 16, 2020
11:40 am - 2:20 pm
BlackBoard Collaborate
Student Implicit Bias/Human Rights Training Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Foundations of Newsgathering (JOUR 1000):
Journalism Degree
Thursday, October 22, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Spectrum of Identities Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Students
Faculty
Administrative
Support
Monday, October 26, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Spectrum of Identities Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Students
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar 
Racial Microaggressions in the Virtual Environment Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty of Applied Sciences
and Technology (FAST)
Thursday, October 29, 2020
9:30 am - 11:30 am
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Advisor Training 2020

Monday, November 9, 2020
Time TBC
Webinar

Unconscious Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Diploma and Post Graduate Journalism Students
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
1:00pm to 2:30pm
Webinar
Introduction to Gender Diversity Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty
Administrative
Support
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Webinar
Discrimination, Sexual Harassment/Sexual Assault and Consent,
and Accommodations (Disabilities)
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Funeral Service Education Programs
Thursday, November 26, 2020
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Libraries
Monday, November 30, 2020
1:00pm to 2:30pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Thursday, December 3, 2020
1:00pm to 2:30pm
Webinar
Addressing Microaggressions (Ableism): International Day for
Persons with Disabilities
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Gender Diversity Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Teaching + Learning
Friday, December 11, 2020
10:00 am – 11:30 am 
Webinar
Introduction to Gender Diversity Adam Benn
Sacha Ally

Program Planning, Development and Renewal

and Libraries

Wednesday, December 16, 2020
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Libraries
Wednesday, January 6, 2021
2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Program Planning, Development and Renewal
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
1:00pm – 2:30pm
Webinar
Spectrum of Identities Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Students
Faculty
Administrative 
Support
Wednesday, January 13, 2021
2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Webinar
Addressing Racial Microaggressions
in the Virtual Environment
Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Program Planning, Development and Renewal
Thursday, January 14, 2021
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Racial Macroaggressions Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Libraries
Tuesday, February 2, 2021
10:00 am – 12:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Implicit Bias Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Teaching + Learning
Wednesday, February 3, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Webinar
Introduction to Racial Macroaggressions Adam Benn
Sacha Ally
Libraries